logo of blechtrottel.net blechtrottel.net
deutsch

Russian Phonetic keyboard

Read this first

The following artice describes how to use a special keyboard layout to type Russian on a German keyboard. If you want to type Russian on an English QWERTY keyboard better read up at WinRus.com.

Starting Point

If you want to type Russian on your pc nowadays, this is no big deal. Cyrillic fonts come with any modern operating system and keyboard layouts can easily be changed accordingly. The standard Russian keyboard layouts are awkward to our fingers, without letters on the keys finding the right one can turn into a game of hide and seek.

Russian keyboards and keyboard with both Cyrillic and Latin letters are available on the internet, the same goes for stickers to put onto your existing keyboard. Yet, people do not necessarily want to have more than one keyboard connected to your computer and stickers do not last too long.

Phonetic Keyboard Layout

There is an alternative to the DIY approach, i.e. a phonetic keyboard layout, which is taylor-made to fit the keys present on your keyboard. Several systems can be found on the internet but their layout relies too heavily on the standard English keyboard and the English pronunciation of letters. These systems are therefore not fit for a German keyboard in a German-speaking environment.

Based on the excellent information on this topic at WinRus.com we now offer a Russian phonetic keyboard layout for German keyboard. This means that the cyrillic letters are placed on keys that are close in pronunciation in German. Hence, Russian В can be found on W, Н on N, Р on R etc. The following illustration displays the details:

keyboard layout of the Russian phonetic keyboard for German keyboard

Explanation

So, when you type priwet you will get привет. This is a rather intuitive approach and works best if you are able to type with ten fingers without having to look on the keys. A few things should be considered:

  1. The German umlauts on the keyboard were used for the soft vowels: Ö covers Ё, Ü covers Ю etc. Е is E, though, and Ä is where you find Э.
  2. A few letters where placed according to their (sometimes very small) resemblance in writing: Х is X, Ч can be found at H, З at C and Ж at V.
  3. The remaining letters were placed on keys that are not needed in Russian: Я is on key Q, Ш and Щ are to the right on keys + and #. Soft sign (мягкий знак) and hard sign (твёрдый знак) are first and last in the number row on the keyboard. On most of the other phonetic keyboard layouts these lie on different keys for lower and upper case, respectively. We think that that is rather clumsy and managed to avoid it.
  4. Euro sign and @ have been retained. Key § now prints Russian № which is present in this position on all Russian keyboards.

Download and Installation

Windows

This keyboard layout (appearing as Russisch (phonetisch) - Deutsche Tastatur after installation in Windows), can be downloaded as a zip file.

Once you unzip it you will find a folder ruphonde containing a setup.exe. Just double-click that and wait for the installation program to report uccess. After that it should be available like any other keyboard layout in the language settings of your Windows system.

To uninstall simply run setup.exe again and select uninstall.

Linux

Under Linux keyboard layouts for the desktop are handled by the X server. The necessary files are stored in /usr/share/X11/xkbd/symbols (in some Linux distributions in /etc/X11/xkbd/symbols).

The de file in there contains a section for a phonetic keyboard layout. So, the easiest approach is to replace these definitions with ours. Simply search for the entry and replace all lines with key definitions (key , aso.) with the ones in our file. Reboot and you can choose the new layout like any other.

Should the keys not react as expected, you have to empty the folder /var/lib/xkbd. After another reboot things should be fixed.

Final Remark

The Windows keyboard layout was made with Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator 1.4 and works in Windows versions from XP to 10, including 64bit versions. Feel free to install the program and create your own variety based on our layout. As always, we would be delighted to get feedback and comments.

Thanks

A very special thank you goes to Paul Gorodyansky (Павел Городянский) at WinRus.com for his indepth information which triggered this project. Большое тебе спасибо, Павел!

logo der blechtrottel brodaktschns  blechtrottel brodaktschns
English

russisch phonetische tastatur

ausgangssituation

Wenn man auf dem pc russisch schreiben möchte, so ist das heutzutage keine große sache. Schriftarten sind bei allen ernstzunehmenden betriebssystemen dabei und auch die tastaturbelegung kann entsprechend geändert werden. Die belegung der russischen tastatur ist für unsere finger allerdings recht gewöhnungsbedürftig. Ohne zeichen auf den tasten kann es schnell zum ratespiel werden.

Russische tastaturen und tastaturen mit russischen und deutschen buchstaben kann man im internet erwerben und auch klebefolien für eine vorhandene kaufen. Doch nicht jeder will mehrere tastaturen vor seinem computer liegen haben und auch die aufkleber halten nicht ewig.

phonetische tastaturbelegung

Die alternative ohne einkauf und bastelei ist eine phonetische tastaturbelegung, die der vorhandenen tastatur angepasst ist. Dafür kursieren einige systeme im internet. Sie lehnen sich aber bei der tastenbelegung und der aussprache zu sehr an das englische an, sind also in unseren breiten nicht sehr sinnvoll.

Angeregt durch die sehr informativen ausführungen zum thema auf der seite WinRus.com gibt es deshalb jetzt eine russisch phonetische tastaturbelegung für deutsche tastatur. Das heißt, die russischen schriftzeichen befinden sich dort, wo es von der aussprache her eine deutsche entsprechung gibt. Das russische В liegt also auf dem W, das Н auf dem N, das Р auf dem R usw. Die folgende grafik soll das verdeutlichen:

die tastenbelegung der russisch phonetischen tastatur für deutsche tastatur

erklärung

Man kann also priwet tippen und erhält привет. Das ist intuitiv und funktioniert besonders gut, wenn man mit zehn Fingern blind schreiben kann. Ein paar besonderheiten gibt es aber:

  1. Die umlaute der deutschen tastatur wurden mit den weichen vokalen belegt: Ö mit Ё, Ü mit Ю usw. Allerdings liegt das Е auf E und auf der position des Ä findet sich das Э.
  2. Ein paar buchstaben wurden doch nach der (teilweise entfernten) ähnlichkeit im schriftbild angeordnet: Х ist X, Ч liegt auf H, З auf C und Ж auf V.
  3. Die restlichen zeichen wurden auf tasten gelegt, die im russischen nicht gebraucht werden: Das Я liegt auf dem Q, Ш und Щ rechts auf den tasten + und #. Weichezeichen (мягкий знак) und Härtezeichen (твёрдый знак) sind das erste und letzte zeichen der zahlenreihe. Auf manchen anderen phonetischen tastaturen liegen hier der großbuchstabe und der kleinbuchstabe auf verschiedenen tasten. Wir halten das für unsinnig und konnten es vermeiden.
  4. Eurozeichen und @ bleiben erhalten. Auf der taste § liegt aber das russische № als nummernzeichen, das auf keiner russischen tastatur fehlt.

download und installation

Windows

Die tastaturbelegung Russisch (phonetisch) - Deutsche Tastatur, (so erscheint sie in Windows nach der installation) kann als zip heruntergeladen werden. Nach dem entpacken findet man im ordner ruphonde eine setup.exe, die man nur doppelklicken muss. Wenn nach einiger zeit das installationsprogramm auf englisch erfolg meldet, steht die tastatur wie jede andere in der sprachauswahl zur verfügung.

Um die tastatur wieder zu deinstallieren, einfach die setup.exe noch einmal aufrufen und deinstallieren wählen.

Linux

Unter Linux wird die tastenbelegung der graphischen oberfläche unter dem X-server geregelt. Die dateien dafür finden sich unter /usr/share/X11/xkbd/symbols (bei manchen Linux-varianten unter /etc/X11/xkbd/symbols).

Die datei de enthält bereits einen Abschnitt für ein phonetisches keyboard-layout. Somit ist es am einfachsten, die definitionen dort durch unsere zu ersetzen. Einfach den abschnitt suchen und die zeilen mit den tastendefinitionen (key , usw.) durch die angaben in unserer datei ersetzen. Nach einem neustart kann die tastaturbelegung dann auf dem üblichen weg ausgewählt werden.

Sollte die tastenbelegung auch nach einem neustart nicht passen, dann muss der ordner /var/lib/xkbd geleert werden. Danach ist wieder ein neustart notwendig.

schlussbemerkung

Diese tastaturbelegung wurde mit dem Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator 1.4 erstellt und funktioniert unter Windows ab XP, auch auf 64bit-versionen. Es steht jedem frei, sich das programm zu installieren und aus unserem keyboard eine eigene variante zu entwickeln. Über kommentare und anregungen würden wir uns freuen.

dank

Unser besonderer dank geht an Paul Gorodyansky (Павел Городянский) von WinRus.com für seine ausführlichen informationen und damit die anregung für dieses projekt. Большое тебе спасибо, Павел!

zur homepage eine ebene hinauf zum seitenanfang 4.5.2012