logo of blechtrottel.net blechtrottel.net
deutsch

XSLT in PHP4

UTF and ISO

Just like Sablotron, other XML funtions in PHP too only output utf-8. This can lead to problems when your webpages are not encoded in utf-8 and contain XSLT in PHP. Special characters will not be displayed correctly. You can of course have one page differ from all the others, e.g. be in utf-8. When this webpage, however, uses an external stylesheet Internet Explorer sometimes runs into problems. If, for example, the transformation results are in utf-8 while their external stylesheet (just as all other pages) is in iso-8859-1, IE ignores the CSS. So it is worth to have a look or two into the different ways of decoding utf-8 in PHP.

Unfortunately one thing is true here as well: The simplest functions are not included in every installation of PHP. So assessing a webspace starts with trial and error. Or with the test package from blechtrottel brodaktschns, which can be found further below on this page.

Here is the code for the different ways of decoding, which replace the last line of code on the previous page:

utf8_decode()

This is the simplest method, if the result is to be iso-8859-1.

<?php

print utf8_decode($html);

?>

iconv()

This method's advantage lies in that the result does not necessarily have to be iso-8859-1.

<?php

print iconv("utf-8", "iso-8859-1", $html);

?>

preg_replace()

If none of the above methods work you can only fall back on regular expressions. All special characters that are displayed wrongly get replaced by the correct ones. Our example works for German umlauts and the sz in iso-8859-1. For other encodings and special characters it is best to copy the wrong characters from the results that are not displayed correctly.

<?php

$utf8umlaute = array ('@Ã@',
                      '@ä@',
                      '@Ã@',
                      '@ö@',
                      '@Ã@',
                      '@ü@',
                      '@Ã@');

$isoumlaute = array ('Ä', 'ä', 'Ö', 'ö', 'Ü', 'ü', 'ß');

print preg_replace($utf8umlaute, $isoumlaute, $html);

?>

This: Ã for example, is what a German A umlaut encoded in utf-8 looks like in an iso-8859-1 webpage. (The '@ @' in the sample code are needed for the regex array.)

Final remarks

The examples given were or have been at work here at blechtrottel brodaktschns. Our RSS-newsfeed used to get parsed with Sablotron and turned into iso-8859-1 by using regular expressions. As we mentioned our webspace now supports PHP5. At the moment our newsfeed is parsed with libxslt. We stayed with the regular expressions, though.

In order to find out what method works on your own webspace there is a test package available as a ZIP for download. The php4xslttest folder has to be extracted and uploaded completely into the root directory (mostly htdocs) of the webspace. Then you have to call the file http://.../php4xslt/php4xslttest.html (The three dots are to represent the address of the webspace.):

die php4xslttest.html im einsatz
testdatei im einsatz (für größeres bild klicken)

The server in the screenshot supports XSLT with libxslt, UTF-reencodings with utf_decode() and, of course, preg_replace(). The other tests bring up an error message.

These tests work quite as well on PHP5.

Any tips, wishes and complaints are welcome. We would like to thank all those who already did comment and thus helped us refine the texts here.

If you are looking for further PHP tutorials try Dynamic Web Pages. Even though this is a German site, most tutorials listed there are in English.

Page 1 - Page 2 - Page 3 - Page 4

logo blechtrottel.net blechtrottel.net
English

XSLT mit PHP4

UTF und ISO

Nicht nur Sablotron, auch andere XML-funktionen in PHP geben nur utf-8 aus. Das kann probleme mit sich bringen, wenn die eigenen webseiten nicht in utf-8 geschrieben sind und darin XSLT mit PHP eingebaut ist. Sonderzeichen werden dann nicht richtig dargestellt. Zwar kann durchaus eine seite auch von den anderen abweichen, also z.B. in utf-8 kodiert sein. Wenn diese webseite aber einen externen stylesheet benutzt, hat der Internet Explorer manchmal probleme damit. Ist die ergebnisseite nämlich in utf-8, ihr externer stylesheet (wie alle anderen seiten) z.B. in iso-8859-1, so ignoriert der IE das CSS. Es lohnt sich also, einen blick auf die möglichkeiten zur umwandlung zu werfen.

Leider gilt auch hier: Die einfachsten funktionen sind nicht in jeder PHP-installation vorhanden. Bei jedem webspace stehen am anfang versuch und irrtum. Oder aber das testpaket der blechtrottel brodaktschns weiter unten auf dieser seite.

Hier kurz der code für die verschiedenen möglichkeiten, die die letzte zeile des codes auf der vorigen seite ersetzen:

utf8_decode()

Das ist die einfachste methode, wenn das ergebnis iso-8859-1 sein soll.

<?php

print utf8_decode($html);

?>

iconv()

Diese methode hat den vorteil, dass das ergebnis nicht iso-8859-1 sein muss, sondern auch etwas anderes sein kann.

<?php

print iconv("utf-8", "windows-1252", $html);

?>

preg_replace()

Funktioniert keine der genannten varianten, so bleibt nur der einsatz von regulären ausdrücken. Die falsch dargestellten sonderzeichen werden durch die richtigen ersetzt. Das angeführte beispiel gilt für die deutschen umlaute und das scharfe s in iso-8859-1. Für andere kodierungen und andere sonderzeichen kopiert man die falschen zeichen am besten aus einer ergebnisseite, bei der die darstellung nicht passt.

<?php

$utf8umlaute = array ('@Ã@',
                      '@ä@',
                      '@Ã@',
                      '@ö@',
                      '@Ã@',
                      '@ü@',
                      '@Ã@');

$isoumlaute = array ('Ä', 'ä', 'Ö', 'ö', 'Ü', 'ü', 'ß');

print preg_replace($utf8umlaute, $isoumlaute, $html);

?>

So: Ã präsentiert sich z.B. ein großes umlaut-a aus utf-8 in einer webseite in iso-8859-1. (Die Zeichen '@ @' im codebeispiel werden für das regex array benötigt.)

schlussbemerkung

Die angeführten beispiele waren bzw. sind auf der website der blechtrottel brodaktschns im einsatz. Unser RSS-newsfeed wurde mit Sablotron geparst und mit regulären ausdrücken in iso-8859-1 gebracht. Wie bereits erwähnt, unterstützt unser webspace inzwischen PHP5. Aktuell wird der newsfeed mit libxslt geparst, beim ersetzen mit regulären ausdrücken sind wir geblieben.

Um herauszufinden, welche variante auf dem eigenen webspace funktioniert, gibt es ein testpaket als ZIP zum herunterladen. Der ordner php4xslttest muss entpackt und komplett in das stammverzeichnis (meist htdocs) des webspace geladen werden. Dann einfach die datei php4xslttest.html im ordner aufrufen:

die php4xslttest.html im einsatz
testdatei im einsatz (für größeres bild klicken)

Der server im bild unterstützt XSLT mit libxslt, UTF-umwandlungen mit utf_decode() und natürlich preg_replace(). Die anderen tests liefern eine fehlermeldung (fatal error).

Die test funktionieren auch unter PHP5.

Hinweise zur verbesserung, wünsche, anregungen und beschwerden werden wie immer gerne entgegengenommen. Gedankt sei an dieser stelle allen, die von dieser möglichkeit bereits gebrauch gemacht und uns so bei der überarbeitung des textes geholfen haben.

Für weiterführende hinweise zum thema PHP empfehlen blechtrottel brodaktschns die einschlägigen seiten bei Dynamic Web Pages.

Seite 1 - Seite 2 - Seite 3 - Seite 4